How And Why I Migrated My Blog To Hashnode

How And Why I Migrated My Blog To Hashnode

ยท

5 min read

If you have been a frequent visitor of my blog you may notice this is my third time moving to a different platform. I decided to shed some light on why I chose to do so.

Let me give you a long history of how I started a website(not yet a blog). It all started with GitHub Student Developer Pack. Some of you might know, GitHub Education offers this very generous pack, full of great tools, free of charge while you are a student. I was curious to see what the pack has and what I can do with it. In fact, developer pack provides so many tools you don't even know which one to use. As a newbie software engineer(still a sophomore student), I didn't have any experience with deploying websites on real domains except for localhost(dumb me ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™‚๏ธ). So I decided go with .tech domain being offered for free for one year.

Wohooo, now I have a domain under my last name. So what? What's next? I told myself. Since I was actively looking for internships at that time(and also needed to show off my skills ๐Ÿ˜ƒ) I just decided to set up a simple website about myself, no serious content. I chose one of the most worst free hosting services available. As bad as it sounds, my newly gone online website had very crappy UI. I left that untouched for almost a year.

Then, here comes the trap: .tech, in September, reminded me about renewing my plan at a bit pricey rate than normal .com domains. Yeah, this is usually what happens when you sign up for free trials. Since I did internship during summer I had some money saved. I decided to keep my ibrokhimov.tech domain as it looks cool for someone who is a techie guy ๐Ÿ˜Ž. After renewing my domain I wanted to become more active by writing blog posts about what I learn on a daily studying or working routine. I came across with Hexo blogging framework. I was excited but where do I host my website? Again that crappy hosting website? No way. I started to look for alternatives. By that time, I heard a lot about Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure and AWS. I gave it a try with AWS free tier. I learned about S3 bucket, Route 53, EC2 and some other stuff. I played around with AWS for a while and managed to deploy my static website to it. Wow, now I can say I have an experience in cloud computing when I go to interviews ๐Ÿค— I told myself.

Guess what? I published only 2 posts(not quality ones) during 3 months on that cloud hosted website. I found it inconvenient to write posts all the time in VS Code and deploy them. Writing a blog should be easy, I shouldn't be spending long time on learning frameworks and configuring them how to deploy. I'm sure you agree 100% on this point with me.

All of a sudden, I got to know about Hashnode. This one looks promising since I solely focus on writing blogs. Besides, I can use my own domain unlike many other popular blogging websites. Furthermore, UI is intuitive, editor is nice and much more to explore. This is my first post right after signing up for Hashnode. So far looks good.

There you go, you made it! You came till the end of this post! Ah, one more thing I am planning to write more quality content, so stay tuned!

Cheers!